Ride, Race, Fail, Learn, Correct

Much to the dismay of everyone in my life that doesn’t race bicycles, or even ride them for that matter, it’s bike racing season again. We all know it as the wonderful time of year where getting evil eyes in the parking lot at a road race solidifies the seemingly endless excuses not to show up.

And trust me, I can and will find all of them.

Let’s start off with some hot topics from the last few weeks –

badbadbadSagan

  • Peter Sagan is a  jackass. There is no excuse for what he did on the podium at the Tour of Flanders. And if you think it’s funny or excusable or the podium girls fault because she chose to be there 1) fuck you 2) you’re just as bad as him. His apology was BS. He should have been fined, arrested, given as suspension or otherwise kicked out of the sport. I have no respect for what Sagan’s done or what he will do.

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 9.36.47 AM

  • Marianne Vos is awesome. Her off season, if she really even has one, consists of winning either world championships, Olympic gold medals and classic races she’s yet to win. Ohh, throw in a mountain bike race here and there, and she’ll probably win that as well.

cancellara

  • How fucking odd does Cancellara look on his bike? 1 ) He’s huge. 2) It works. I know he’s slowly closing in on Boonen on “cobbled classic king” but if we go through this period without ever seeing them in a proper battle, it’s just not going to be the same. Although it is nice to see  –

fabian-Stybar

  • Zdenek Stybar being a total dudebro and giving it the beans at Roubaix – only to be taken out by a crazed spectator. Honestly, it sucks, but also honestly, it’s sort of part of what Paris-Roubaix is.

As for me, well, I’ve been riding my bike and seemingly getting a little better at it. I totally sold out and bought a “garmeeeeeeen”. And while I can’t say I’m in love with it our that it is totally better than any other, far less expensive cycling computer out there, I sure do like riding with it. It’s nice to be able to keep track of my speed/cadence/heart rate and then just upload to Garmin’s cool little website thinger.

But my rides have been a little better. I’ve been going a little harder up hill, but being far more conservative, for whatever reason, on the descents. My leg speed is slowly coming back. It’s amazing, but I lost so much during the end of ‘cross season. It’s hard to keep up, but I’ve sort figured out a way to keep it up.

mebarry

  • It was hard. The good hard though. All in all I had a really good day. After being misinformed that there was a “neutral rollout” to the first dirt road the pace skyrocketed from 0 to 27mph in 30 seconds. Yikes! What I didn’t expect was how fast the course would be. The profile looked lumpy and there seemed to be a few “climbs”. Fortunately for me, there were no real big climbs, only short little grinders. In fact I spent most of the day in my big ring, not that I am necessarily ‘bragging’, but it was just that fast.
  • The first 45 minute was as chaotic as a race could be – bodies and bottles flying in every direction. I lost both of my bottles in the first 35 minutes and another an hour later. Luckily, it was only about 35°F and I didn’t require a ton of water for the day.
  • I went down twice – both times in icy ruts. The final time was the killer. I was hanging with the lead masters and went down about 25k from the finish. It took me all of 2 minutes to get my momentum back and drive on. I finished with at time of 3hr12min, something I am proud of for my first gravel race, ever.
  • Other than that, Barry-Roubaix was a ton of fun. The event atmosphere was amazing – from the Founder’s Brewery beer to the live band to the post race awards ceremony – everything was well done. Hopefully the weather plays out a little better next year and we can get some sun and warmer temps.

Following Barry-Roubaix, Taylor, Kristen and I did a little 25 mile recovery ride on the short course. It was nice, but 10° colder than the day before. 

Aaron and I rode Scioto Trails.

Dave and I recon’d the Amish County Roubaix course and I rode a ton. It’s nice to be drinking less, sleeping more and feeling better all week long rather then feeling strong on Wednesday and slow and lumpy on race day.

Honestly, my biggest goal of the spring was Amish County Roubaix. It’s not a course that suits by weight, but it’s a course that I have fallen in love with. Dirty, nasty, gravel roads that are dangerous and scary in a part of a Ohio that is as old than any other part of the state.

ACRelevation

  • High noon start times are the best – while the drive was just over an hour and forty-five minutes, being able to get an extra half hour of sleep and enjoy breakfast and coffee instead of piling in to a car at 6am is more or less the best thing on the planet.
  • When I registered the field looked strong. It got stronger after registration closed and a few more names stacked the field.
  • The race started fast and I hung for a bit. I was doing good until the real descents started and lost contact about 25 minutes in. I hung on with a few guys and lost contact again on a descent. Finally, with about 40 minutes left to race, I gave one climb the beans, bridged up to about 20 seconds and lost it all again on the descent. Yikes! With ten miles and mostly flat road left and chewed through the forty-five to sixty second gap between me and a small group of two/three. With about 4 miles to go I got on their wheel and the games began. I put in a few tester digs to see how the legs felt, but sat up. About 500m from the finish I took off and one guy went with me. I took a turn too wide and thought my day was over. I buried myself, shifted down, lunged for the line and took the sprint. 

Screen shot 2013-04-08 at 2.58.41 PM

(Maybe the first time a bike throw has worked in my favor)

  • I heard someone yell, “Spencer, you’re in the money.” I was in a state of disbelief. I knew I had picked up a few spots, but didn’t know I had clawed my way inside the top 10!
  • SoupCan racing did a great job with this race. Not only was the course very well marked, it was also 80% marshaled with volunteers. At no point was I lost or wondering which way/where to go. Plus, a beer token and a cooler full of Coca-Cola won my heart. Thanks to them.

finallunge(THANKS MOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM)

More shots from Zanesfield RR here

  • Note – I am still the worst road racer on the planet. No matter what the consequences are.
  • On Sunday, I registered for a road race in Zanefield, OH. I was in good spirits after my good, hard ride on Saturday. Unfortunately,  Millersburg, OH lacked much in the way of vegetarian fare and I didn’t have a proper post-race meal until about 4 hours after the race. I tried as hard as I could to not move, eat properly and sleep well but none of that happened.
  • Early on, I hung in with the, uhhhhum, humuhmm, cat 4 field for 1.5 laps and spent the last 1.5 with Duncan off the back. We traded pulls and finished up the short race. It was clear my lack of post-race food from the day before had made it’s impact. 
  • More importantly my cat 4-form-o-meter is about 71% if we’re judging based on my less than impressive performance at Zanesfield.

But, you know – Ride, race, fail, learn, correct

Up next – 

  1. OMBC #1 at Mountwood – Always a good time. 
  2. OMBC #2 at Mohican State Park – The test of true MTB form
  3. RATL and Cuyahoga Valley Training Series
  4. TOSRV – How many cookies can I eat this year?

Till next time.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Just being a jerk

Full Barry-Roubaix race report to come, but this –

Barry#1

 

Racer #177 – 3hr12min – 2 crashes, one gashed right knee (thank 3m for tegaderm) & one swollen and scratched right buttcheek.

Racer #177’s bike – 3 lost bottles, 2 crashes, both drive side – slightly bent derailleur hanger.

Overall, I felt great. Outside a few mishaps on some ice, my race was fun, fast and hard. There is definitely room for improvement, but this was a good start for 2013.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The excitement of a cancelled bicycle race

Last weekend was a very interesting. Everyone in Ohio was stoked to race but a small snowstorm slowly moved across the state. The storm never hit Columbus but instead blanketed Oxford, OH with a layer of slippery snow that forced the race director to postpone the race an hour before the grand depart of the 2013 road racing season.

That left a lot of race ready dudes and dudettes, ready to race. Including my wonderful clubmate, Aaron Daniels, and lifelong archenemy, fellow Velobro bloggist, Ian and Dylan, another NE Ohioan soon to be on my shitlist.

Those dudes wanted to ride and they wanted to ride fast. I wanted to ride and wasn’t ready to ride fast.

Naturally, we rode.

I took the guys over my usual 60 mile route out of my front door and down through Canal Winchester. The ride started fast and that trend continued throughout the day. Up and over the small rises that lie just southeast of Downtown, the sun began to peak through the thick layer of clouds. The wind swirled from the west, sometimes northwest. At a consistant 15mph cross, head/tail wind kept the ride interesting.

While the sun played peak-a-boo with us, the high of 35°F and stout westerly wind created a bit havoc for the ride home.

With an hour to go on the way home and after a not so decent cup of coffee at Starjunks, we made our way across Groveport Rd., doing our best impressions of a four man break on a flat stage of the Tour de France. The paceline rotated quickly and our pace remained high. It was not enough to escape the incessant passing of cars travelling at 100mph less than 12 inches from our elbows.

I hardly noticed them going by as my chin was dropped and waving side to side over my new, shiny red bartape.

Once to the path a truce was called, yet more beans were given and just after 4pm EST we were home.

After the ride, it appeared as if I had consumed a handful “pot brownies”,

Athb0e5CAAAsVL0

My usual “1000 yard stare” was more like a “1000 mile stare” and my stomach was churning some gross combination of shitty coffee, PB&J and shot blocks.

A few feet away was Ian, presumably stoked about the hammer he laid out over the three hour period.

purito

Yet, watching him slip out of his Team Lake Effect kit and in to a shirt that resembled the maglia rosa, the days work set in and I felt alright. It seemed like I took the boys from NE Ohio on a pretty fun ride.

The pain of my first fast road ride went away, we ate some decent “Mexican” food and Sami and I watched 4 hours of the Walking Dead, ate popcorn and went to do bed.

I didn’t let it stick with me.  The ride that is.

That is until the next day when I went on a 2 hour spin known as the extended Bougie Loop. I was in all sorts of pain.

That being said, I am proud to announce the first analysis of my 2013 Cat 4 form-o-meter.

I stand at a solid 63%. There’s a lot of work to be done, but hanging in on Sunday’s ride gave me reason to believe that some good stuff is right around the corner.

That being said,

Less bikin’ more snackin’.

Till later breakaway bros.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

on bicycling and bicycle mechanics

…and by that I mean the mechanics that allow your bike to go forward, not the folks who work on ’em.

So, I decided to be a fancy boy and put a chris king bottom bracket on my racing bicycle, because I’ve been rockin’ the same bottom bracket since 2010. Yikes. Anyway, post-installation, the cranks wouldn’t spin in the frame the way you would expect. When I questioned some other folks regarding this, I was told that, “most new chris king bbs are pretty stiff at first, and will break in soon”.

Well, it’s been a few weeks of bikin’, and the damn thing still wouldn’t spin right. I pulled the crank off, at which point my co-worker Travis noticed that I had neglected to remove the spacer from my old bb, and it had fused to crank. Once we pulled that useless spacer off, the crank proceeded to spin normally.

Oof. Mistakes, I be makin’ em. Also, as a result, I’ve been putting in a ton more effort than I thought while riding, and 2 hours on the bike later, I can confirm that for the past few weeks/last race weekend, I have been riding the equivalent of a bike with pennies in the water bottles and the air let out of the tires.

Perhaps it was “winter brain” talking, but while bikin’ today, I couldn’t stop thinking about my first road bike. The first time I rode a road bike was on a camping trip with my friends to Berea, OH. I snagged an old Schwinn from a garage sale, loaded up my backpack, and got ready to pedal around 60 miles. I had zero conception of how difficult it would be, why my friends had “water bottle holders” on their bikes, or why in the hell all the guys wearing spandex had their seats up so high. It was, physically, the hardest day of my life, but something about it hooked me. I’ll never forget riding the last 10 miles to the campsite after seeing a billion awesome bands at Berea Fest. Our friends pulled up to us in a car and tried to hand me a coke, just like those dudes in that French bike race my dad watched every summer.

I get the impression that a lot of my friends think I don’t find joy in cycling, that I’m always “training”, that I don’t love it like I used to. That couldn’t be further from the truth. Bikin’  never gets dull for me, and I still grin as widely as I did on that night in Berea…but in this 20 degree weather, the PMA tends to dissipate with the feeling in my fingers. Here’s to spring rolling around soon, and bikin’ feeling less like a death sentence or a “workout”, and more like something to be reveled in. This spring and summer, I’m banking on more mid ride swimming stops, more late night rides, more rips down secret trails,more dirt road excursions….. with new friends, and with old ones. I can’t wait.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

#basemiles, The Hard Way

#basemiles, the hard way. You know that shit. Mid fucking winter, nice mild day and gusty wind.

A shit ton of fucking gusty wind.

Normally wind isn’t that big of an issue for me, but every so often the wind just takes it all out of me.

And I’d rather have that happen in mid-fucking February than on June 28, 2013.

Just saying.

No pictures, I apologize. More riding tomorrow.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment